Travelogue: Bonus Dream Destinations

I’d love to visit many places, not just those outlined in my travel plans, but there are two others that stand above the rest.

The first is Tangier, Morocco!!!!

This is where my Dad grew up and I’d love to visit the house with a tower, walk through the city, and watch a storm in the Straights. I want to see for myself where all of the stories I’ve heard took place.

I’d like to meet someone there who remembers Dad and his family, but after they left nearly sixty years ago, I doubt I’d find some. They didn’t keep up ties with those who remained there.

This would also be super cool as I’d be the first of my siblings to visit there. As number six out of seven, firsts are rarer for me.

My second is Goroka, Papua New Guinea!!!!

This is where my Mom grew up. She’s told way less stories, but people from there just have a nearly immediate connection and desire to stay in touch, so I’ve met a fair number of people who she knew there and not.

Unlike Dad’s family, Mom’s never left, I mean I’ve no relations there now, but fifteen years or so ago my older brothers went to high school there. Us young’uns haven’t really been back since, but it wasn’t that long ago.

*As a note, I will admit the only major item in these photos that will be going with me on the trip is the backpack. I’ll not be taking the suitcase as I’m hoping to go most of the trip with only carry on. I’ll also not take those clothes as they’re what I refer to as true summer clothes and I’ll not be wanting those things in autumn and winter…. Ah well, they look neat.

Author: Esther Jackson

I am a young United States citizen. I've been mostly home schooled. I have no plans to go to college or university, but I plan to never stop learning. I'm the second youngest of seven. I love to teach. I feel called to design and sew modest clothes. I adore reading and chatting about books

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started