Resizing Pattern Drawings

The Modern Way

Here’s a free toddler dress pattern I used for deciding how big I should make the pieces. Or at least a link to the shop you can get it from. This picture shows the layout of the page I used for this project.

Here you might be able to tell that I’ve gotten this to the right size and just how zoomed in that is.

Then I moved in one of the pattern pieces I want to use and arrange it so I can see through it and it’s in the right direction.

After a bit of fiddling I’ve got my pieces to match up. Please note that one of the reasons I didn’t want to use the Chloe dress is that it had a wider neck than I wanted. So I measured the straight length of my piece.

This shows the full pattern I’m using and the size I have to zoom in to so it is the right size

Here is my hand tracing it and then I retraced it with a marker so I could see it easier.

And finally the finished pattern, sure the main dress pieces aren’t full length, but I just extended them to the right length as it is just a straight line down from there to hem level. The tissue paper I used was just a basic pencil skirt that was too big for my family, we don’t like the style so we’d never use it.

This is a wee bit easier than drafting a pattern from scratch, but it comes with no instructions so it is a challenge to put together. If you wish to make this dress yourself remember that D has part of the back neck on it.

Author: Esther Jackson

I am a young United States citizen. I've been mostly home schooled. I have no plans to go to college or university, but I plan to never stop learning. I'm the second youngest of seven. I love to teach. I feel called to design and sew modest clothes. I adore reading and chatting about books

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started