Curves In The Flickering Dark

I suppose this section’s title will actually be the title of the chapter in my autobiography that these sections are taken from. I’m just writing for now.

We got to Arkansas just about when darkness came. Esther took over then. The journey on the paved road was very smooth, there was 1 section that was almost to smooth. It had just been resurfaced so it was very slick and had no lines. And that was so dark it didn’t really reflect either the moon or the headlights. Thankfully it had no rumble strips.


In town they stopped to switch drivers and to let the family know that they were about to go out of signal.


There was a bit more paved road, then we hit the gravel.


….And my lights went out.


They came back on almost instantly, but for the remaining 4 or 5 miles it was constant flicker. My rear lights stayed on the whole time. But the ones to see by were going on and off about every 10 feet.


Except for when they decided to act like they were either fixed or totally broken for half a minute. It was tiring but we met no other cars. M decided to go very slow for safeties sake. So later than we expected we made it.


Those roads aren’t like the dirt roads here in Kansas where I live. Our roads are straight and wide. These roads are narrow and full of treacherous curves. It was terrible, my driver could hardly see from the lightening storm my lights were causing and the roads were horrible to begin with.

Author: Esther Jackson

I am a young United States citizen. I've been mostly home schooled. I have no plans to go to college or university, but I plan to never stop learning. I'm the second youngest of seven. I love to teach. I feel called to design and sew modest clothes. I adore reading and chatting about books

2 thoughts on “Curves In The Flickering Dark”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started